Stuck

You know, this is not how it starts.

It ‘s supposed to start with a sudden breath of inspiration followed by frenzied writing that takes over you and inhabits your hands until three in the morning when you collapse on your bed surrounded by creation.

Then you wake up the following day, tired but sated, and reality rushes in and reminds you that you actually live in in this world; not the one you created. You know, the one where bills are due.

But I’m stuck. Like really, deer in headlights stuck.

And I know where it’s from too.

It comes from so many stories that I don’t know where to start. There are so many ideas whispering in my head that I can’t scream over the crashing waves in order to hear myself think.

Even then, only half of them are in my head – the other half are unfinished in a file somewhere. Some have worlds, but no characters. Some have complicated rules, but no world to live in. Every once in a while I’ll find a character profile I wrote in a feverish dream. They’re all good – or at least good to me, but still I find myself… stuck.

I know I should just plow through and blow up the brick wall that’s staring me in the face. My problem however, is what’s on the other side? After the explosion, where am I headed?

Is it the world that’s been near and dear to my heart since I was 14? Or is it somewhere new? And what’s going to happen to me while I go on that journey? Do I want to go that way? Will it affect this reality somehow?

So that’s my goal for this week. To whomever’s critiquing, I need to find a story to write. And not just a synopsis of something old. I need a bit of inspiration wrapped up in a little box and delivered to my door.

The frenzy that follows I don’t have a problem with.

2 thoughts on “Stuck”

  1. So, I was praying over this before I wrote. Dorky, I know, but writing is super spiritual. Especially since I feel completely at a loss every time I sit down at my computer. I want to encourage you to be confident. When you feel the longing to write, like a burden you just can’t get rid of, a weight around your neck that will NOT go away – that’s because God has placed a story in you (it’s all very Peter Pan-esque. Like a hidden kiss!) Be confident, don’t fear what’s on the other side of that wall. Because that’s God’s territory, you know? I don’t know if this is helpful. I’m not sure what I’m doing with this comment section…but yeah. I just want you to know that God chooses people to tell stories. And then he equips them to make it what He wants it to be. So. YAY! I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

  2. I think it’s blessing and a curse to have so many different ideas and possibilities for writing. Whenever you’re faced with so many different possibilities, sometimes the best remedy is to just pick one. Put each idea on a dart board, close your eyes, and fire. Whichever one is hit is what you go with. I think just making a decision either way will help break through that wall that has you stuck. Happy writing!

Wanna Say Something?

